Select Page

Manchester Autumn tournament 2022 review

by | Oct 5, 2022 | Events, Manchester, News, Sheffield, Yorkshire

Saturday 24th September saw the return of the Manchester Autumn Tournament to our venue in Sale for our second year. A record 18 teams from across the country, including Edinburgh, Reading & Yorkshire, made the journey to Trafford MV RFCC to take part in another successful tournament. 

The morning of the tournament saw teams battle it out in their pools to qualify for either the Cup, Plate, Bowl, 13-15 Play-offs, or 16-18 Play-offs.

In the Cup division, there were two convincing Sem-Final wins for Tag Deez and It Came From Yorkshire, against Salsa Verde & The Tomartillos, & Baa Baa Tag Fest Sheep respectively. Tag Deez were eventually crowned champions for the second consecutive year after an enthralling extra-time/drop-off win, with Salford Red Devils winger Ken Sio bagging the decisive try.

The Plate final was just as close, with Manchester team Emma, Please Don’t Leave! and Edinburgh Barbarians finishing a 5-5 draw. Edinburgh Barbarians took the spoils as a result of being first try scorers and took the TTR Tournament medals back to Scotland for the first time. In the Bowl final, No Helmet, No Pad, Just Tag put in a dominant performance to defeat Fancy A Quick Tag 6-0.

Elsewhere, round-robin play-offs saw Tagatha Christie come out on top of the 13th-15th group, with Reading Raptors on tour winning the 16th-18th group.

All photos are now available on our Facebook Page.

Cup Champions: Tag Deez
Cup Player of the Tournament: Rob Chance
Cup Player of the Final: Mason Lino

Plate Champions: Edinburgh Barbarians
Plate Player of the Tournament: Alice Farrelly
Plate Player of the Final: Ed Jessop

Bowl Champions: No Helmet, No Pad, Just Tag
Bowl Player of the Tournament: Dami Awobajo
Bowl Player of the Final: Dami Awobajo

Play-Off Winners 13th/14th/15th: Tagatha Christie
Play-Off Winner 16th/17th/18th: Reading Raptors
Play-Off Male Player of the Tournament: Drew Hinchcliffe
Play-Off Female Player of the Tournament: Nadine Dudley

Fancy Dress: Taafe’s Independent Taggers
Referee of the Tournament: Andy Taylor